Blackbirds @ChuckWendig

Last night I did something I haven’t done in quite some time. I finished reading a book. I know, I know, I know, as someone who wants to be a writer I should be doing a lot more reading than I have been doing. I guess there really isn’t much point in coming up with excuses. I should be reading more.

I don’t think I could have picked a better book than Blackbirds by Chuck Wendig. It was the perfect book to use to reintroduce myself to reading. Now, I’m going to go ahead and say it, because I know I have some friends who aren’t very fond of bad language. This book has it in droves. Just a heads up to those of you who might not like that sort of thing.

Miriam Black is the protagonist, largely unorthodox, incredibly crash, and indomitably steadfast heroine of the book. There are parts of the book where you don’t necessarily know if you should be rooting for her or rooting against her. This book does everything a good book should do. It makes you laugh, it makes you cry, it makes you cringe, and it makes you say “oh my god for the love of everything good and holy, what just happened?”

Miriam, well, how should I say it? She has a very special gift. That special gift plays a large part in the telling of this story. Heck, what am I saying? It plays a lot more than a large part of the story. It basically tells the story. She has the ability to touch people and see how they are going to die. I don’t necessarily know if that’s a spoiler or not. I don’t think it is. You basically find it out in the first couple pages. Her ability makes for some very interesting plot scenarios and twists along the way.

I found Chuck Wendig through Twitter. I found his posts very humorous and well written so the next obvious step was to start reading his blog terribleminds.com . His blog is obviously a well crafted extension of his tweets, and not unlike his books, it does not spare on the language. He doesn’t use crass language as a crutch for his writing though. It’s not something to cover blemishes of poor penmanship. No, instead his writing is a delicious ice cream and the naughty language is just the caramel drizzle on top.

I give Blackbirds 4/5 stars. It is an amazing book. Now, I in no way am a book reviewer and have no intention of becoming a book reviewer. I, however, can’t wait to read the next book in the series. I already have it loaded up in my iPad. Reading Blackbirds has also given me some ideas on how I should approach my writing differently in the future.

If you haven’t read anything by Chuck Wendig, and are not averse to some naughty language, then you should definitely read Blackbirds. I can promise you that you won’t want to put it down until you finish reading. You will feel every possible emotion throughout the process of reading it, and yet, somehow…when you are done reading it, you won’t quite be the same.

Leave a Reply

