Joe Donahue Blog Invasion

Wow wow wow wow!! Being nearly ready to self publish my novel, hopefully sometime in the next few weeks, I have been doing vast amounts of research on the avenues of marketing available to indie publishers. There is so much out there! It’s almost a little too much for one single person to try to soak in.

I could see why somebody would want to go the traditional route of publishing in order to have somebody dedicated to marketing your book. I, however, don’t really think that there is anybody that could market my work with the ferocity or passion that I would. The other benefit of going through a traditional publisher is having a professional editor work with you on it, but I really don’t know if that outweighs the pains of going through the process of getting a traditional publisher to notice you.

The main thing I have noticed while doing my research is that you cannot constantly shove your book down the throat of people through social media outlets and expect them to want to read it, or even more so, pay to read it. You have to get a little creative. You wouldn’t think it would be hard enough for people who are creative enough to write a novel to also be creative enough to come up with ways of marketing that novel other than “BUY MY BOOK, please,” but I guess that isn’t always the case.

I have decided to focus on four things in my marketing campaign and I honestly don’t know if there’s even going to be enough of me to adequately address these four things.

Twitter – This is an obvious marketing technique and is actually probably going to be one of my least used. I plan on mainly using it to network. The more followers I get on Twitter the more people will see when I post a blog since my blogs are linked on Twitter the second I post them. I also plan on using it as an avenue for reader of my book to contact me if they wish.

Facebook – I’m essentially going to use it the same way as Twitter.

Goodreads – This is an excellent community that I have just recently stumbled upon. I wish I found it earlier. I absolutely refuse to push my novel down the throat of people though. I haven’t been researching this long, but I can tell that’s not the way to do it. I plan on mentioning my novel in the forum topics where it is allowed though. The other way I plan on doing it is just joining a handful of the groups on Goodreads and getting my name out there. People want to connect with you on a personal level instead of just having you tell them to buy your book. I haven’t had as much time as I would like to focus on this, but I definitely plan on working on it more once I get my novel out there and self published. Right now I’m still having to do a lot of work on getting my novel ready to publish.

My Blog – This is where I plan on doing a large majority of my work towards marketing. If you come here to read about my beer then I’m sorry, because over the next few months this space is pretty much going to be filled by post about the progress on my novel and guest blogs about whatever people want to guest blog about. That brings me to the topic of this blog and what I really wanted to focus on.

THE JOE DONAHUE GUEST BLOG INVASION
Yeah, you read it right. I want to go beyond doing a blog tour. I want to do a blog invasion. I’ve already started working on it and I honestly think it is going to be the best way to get the word out about what I’m doing. I’m going to make it fun though. Who would want to participate if it wasn’t going to be fun?

How am I going to make it fun? All of these guest blogs are going to be done from the POV of a character from my novel. They are going to be done from the POV of the archdemon Azrael. I’ve already written several of these and had a lot of fun writing them so I hope people enjoy reading them. I’m mainly focusing on writing/fantasy themed blogs at first but I’m not limiting it to that. I will post a guest blog to anybody that will have me. Alyssa Vaughan (@LyssaPearl) runs a custom nail polish company and I have written a possible guest blog for her where Azrael discusses nail polish. Like I said, I don’t want to do a guest blog tour, I want to do a full guest blog invasion. So if you’re interested then it doesn’t matter what you typically blog about. I’ll write up a guest blog from the POV of Azrael and we’ll have some fun. Who knows? It could be a way to spice up your blog and get you some new readers.

Leave a Reply

