Holding Pattern

If there isn’t a support group for people who have a hard time waiting on feedback from people they have asked to read their work then there should be. I am quite possibly the most impatient person in the world when it comes to this. I don’t know what it is. I’ve tried. My friends probably disagree with me, but I try very hard.

I tell myself, “They’re very busy right now. Don’t bother them. Wait until they let you know what they think about it or at least wait a couple days until you ask if they’ve had a chance to read it.” I never do. I usually ask on a nearly daily basis. I just get so obsessed about moving forward with the project. I get so obsessed that it just doesn’t equate in my brain that there are other people who are not as obsessed with my writing project as I am. I know, that’s a big shocker right?

So that’s where I am. I have several people reading my novel. They are all in various different stages of reading it. Nobody has finished reading it as of yet, or at least not that I know of. I’ve already finished two major revisions, but I’m holding off on doing any more editing until I get some feedback.

I don’t really know what the purpose of this blog was. Maybe to see if I’m the only one out there that has this kind of anxiety, maybe to serve as an apology and an explanation to my friends of whom I badger so relentlessly. I really have tried to be more patient. I guess I just can’t help it. So now, essentially, I’m in a holding pattern waiting to see if my friends are going to bolster or tear apart my dreams.

It is very frustrating to be stuck on a project that you are so immersed in. I really have no idea what to do next. I don’t like that feeling. I think I will have a good impression of what the next steps will be once I get some feedback, but that also goes back to the rest of this blog. Oh well, I am babbling on without much structure now. Hopefully someone, somewhere will share in my particular situation (neurosis maybe?) and let me know that I’m not alone in my plight.

One thought on “Holding Pattern

  1. I understand what you are feeling. I was told to start a blog or website to showcase some of my writing but I haven’t had any comments on my writing either. I’m not crying, it just hasn’t seemed to work. jb

Leave a Reply

